DIY Hair: Curly Girl Edition

So being a curly haired girl, I can relate to alot of struggles other curly girls have. You name it (frizz, knots, dryness, split ends, etc), I’ve had it. I’ve learned some great techniques along the way to minimize the damage and grown thick healthy hair that I love.

1. Listen to your hair:

I hate washing my hair. I pretty much dread it. It takes alot of time because of the length and thickness. In my effort to avoid the task, my hair suffered. My hair became dry. I’ve found that my hair is best when I condition 3 times a week and wash once a week. Try new things to help your hair retain moisture. 

2. Moisture, moisture, moisture 

The biggest part of retaining length and preventing shedding is making sure your hair is moisturized. How frequently you do it will depend on your hair’s porosity. Experiment with essential oils such as Argan oil, Olive oil, Jamaican Castor Oil to help seal in moisture

3.Minimize heat

Using head products affects the amount of moisturize your hair retains. Be sure to use heat sparingly to prevent breakage and split ends.

4. Protect your scalp

Be sure to keep your scalp clean by shampooing with a moisturizing shampoo. Focus on the scalp when cleaning your hair to prevent stripping the moisture from your ends. Use tea tree oil to help with scalp problems such as dandruff. 

4. Protect from friction

Be sure to protect your hair from friction such as clothing you wear, hair accessories and cotton pillows. Be sure to use satin pillows, silk scarves and loose accessories to prevent pulling and tension. 
XOXO Chic Chronicles

#hair #styling #conditioning #moisture #Curly #CurlyGirl

Leave a Reply

